Kansas Workers’ Compensation Requirements

An A-Z guide on everything you need to know before you purchase a Kansas Workers' Comp Insurance Policy

Kansas workers’ compensation requirements mandate that businesses with a payroll of $20,000 or more must provide workers’ compensation for all employees. However, there are several exemptions to be aware of.

Get my Instant Quote

Required with

1

employee

Any business with a payroll of $20,000+ needs a policy

Who can be exempt?

  • Some agricultural workers
  • Realtors who are independent contractors
  • Firefights who belong to a firefighter’s relief association that has waived coverage

Is workers’ comp insurance required in Kansas?

Yes. All businesses with a payroll of $20,000 or more must have workers’ comp insurance in Kansas. It’s required even if you have only one employee. This is true for both public and private employers. 

It also applies to a wide variety of employees, including full-time, part-time, minor, adult, and seasonal employees. The payroll aspect of $20,000 applies to all of it, no matter where it is paid.

Do you need workers’ compensation coverage if you’re self-employed?

 If you are a business owner or sole proprietor, you do not need to purchase workers' compensation insurance for yourself. This also applies to Partners and LLC members.

You can get coverage if you like. This can help if you experience an illness or injury while working so you don’t need to handle medical costs, hospital bills, and more on your own.

Which people are exempt from Kansas workers’ compensation requirements?

There are several exemptions to Kansas workers’ compensation laws including some agricultural workers, realtors who are independent contractors and Firefights who belong to an association that has waived coverage.

How much is workers’ comp coverage in Kansas?

Your Kansas workers’ comp rate will depend on the following factors:

  • The type of business you have
  • The size of your payroll
  • Your safety record
  • Claim history
workers comp policy cost

How can Kansas small business owners save money on workers' comp?

There are many things you can do to lower the cost. 

Some cost cutting tactics:

How does workman’s comp work in KS?

The process to buy a policy in Kansas is very similar to what you need to do in other states. 

The first step is to get an insurance quote. This is based on your estimated annual payroll. 

Once you choose a policy, you’ll pay the premium and be covered for the 12 months of the policy term.

After the year is over, your payroll will be audited to see how accurate it was. If you paid too much, you can expect a refund. If you paid too little, you will get a bill.

What does workers’ comp cover in Kansas?

Workers who file a workers' comp claim in Kansas can receive benefits for the following:

workers comp covers medical bills

Medical bills

workers comp covers lost wages

Lost Wages

Workers' comp coverage also protects employers from legal action. This means that if an employee sues your business because of a workplace injury, the insurance will cover the legal costs of the case.

How to get workers’ comp insurance in Kansas

There are several ways to get workers’ comp insurance in Kansas. The most common is to get a quote from an insurance agent. You can get an online quote in minutes using Kickstand Insurance. 

Another option is to join a group-funded workers’ compensation pool. 

Some businesses can also choose to self-insure. This only makes financial sense for very large and extremely profitable businesses.

What happens if I don’t have workers’ comp insurance in KS?

Most employers are required by law to provide workers comp insurance. Failing to do so can lead to some serious penalties. 

These include the following:

  • Fines of up to twice the annual premium or $25,000, whichever is more, can be levied.
  • The business can be closed until proof of insurance coverage is available.
  • Employers may be jailed for ignoring workers’ comp laws.
  • Employers may be sued by employees to meet medical expenses if they are injured at a company that doesn’t have a workers’ compensation policy.
FAQ talk bubbles

FAQS

What death benefits are available under KS workers’ comp?

The spouses and kids of deceased workers are eligible to get death benefits in Kansas. If these people do not exist, other dependents may be provided with benefits. 

A total burial allowance of up to $5,000 is also provided. 

Kansas families can also get up to 67% of the worker’s average weekly wage. This has a minimum benefit of $391 a week and a maximum benefit of $645 a month. 

There is no time limit on how long benefits can be paid, but the total amount is capped at $300,000. If the spouse dies, benefits end. The same applies to children who are 18, although that can be extended to 23 for students.

How do workers’ comp settlements work in KS?

The total amount of a settlement depends on many factors, such as the severity of the illness or injury, the worker’s salary, and the type of required treatment. In most cases, settlements are paid out weekly until the total amount is provided unless everyone agrees to a lump sum payment. 

What are the statutes of limitation for KS workers’ compensation?

There are two different statutes of limitation that you should be aware of in Kansas. The claim needs to be filed within three years of the injury or two years from the last payment, whichever is later. 

This means that the claim can be filed after the injury date, for instance, if an injury doesn’t heal.

How do I get a workers’ comp insurance policy with Kickstand Insurance?

Start by filling out a short online form about your business. We’ll use that info to get you an estimated quote. Then, one of our experienced agents will contact you to review the quote and make sure you are getting the absolutely lowest rate possible for your business. Once the quote is finalized, you’re ready to buy the policy - often with coverage starting that day!

Learn more about Workers' Comp in Kansas

No items found.

Why use Kickstand to
get workers' comp insurance?

Speed + Service + Experts

Document with workers’ compensation insurance quote surrounded by insurance icons

Unlike other online insta-quote systems,
here your quote is reviewed by experts

Why does it matter?

  • Avoid surprise bills at audit
  • Make sure all your employees are properly covered
  • Protect yourself from lawsuits

What do we check?

  • Business categorized correctly
  • Employees job roles
  • Special discount opportunities
    
     Excellent    5 stars  
5 Star Google Reviews

Ready to get started with Kickstand?

It’s time to get the coverage you need. Just complete our simple online form and we’ll get you a no-obligation quote and connect with one of our expert KS agents. It’s that simple!